Good Old Teddy, and Piranhas

I recently came across an article referencing Teddy Roosevelt’s post-Presidential trip to South America as a source of a prevailing myth of the animal kingdom, that the mighty piranha is capable of stripping a bovine victim down to its bones in under a minute. Apparently, the overwhelming desire to impress the mighty adventurer motivated a group of Brazilians to isolate an inordinate number of the fish in a small lake without nourishment for several days before his visit, at which time they dropped in said ruminant, and the resulting legend was born. I disagree that, as the article suggests, the ability of piranha to complete said feat is truly a myth, considering that they could perform said action, even if it would never truly occur in nature. Just as I could physically copulate with a supermodel, but said escapade is unlikely to occur in the normal routine of my day.

Please love me, Teddy!

Please love me, Teddy!

