Race Report: Lake Padden Triathlon

I have been extremely lucky with the weather at all of my races so far this year; a sun-drenched day after more than a week of rain and cold met us for the starter’s gun at 8:30am on Saturday. Normally I would have been worried at the late starting time, but the sun was mild and the race was relatively short, so the heat didn’t prove to be a problem. You could probably classify this race as a Sprint Triathlon, although all of the legs were closer to Olympic distance: 800 meter swim, 21 mile bike, 5 mile run. I came out with a decent time, third in my age group, and a new pair of socks from the after-race giveaway, so it turned out to be a pretty nice day. As per usual I had a few goals, some of which were met, some of which were not:

1) Finish in the top 10% of field; not quite, 44th out of 268. 3rd out of 18 in my Age Group.

2) Beat all the women; only 2 women were able to cross the line before me in this race. Actually, for some reason I was listed as a female on the preliminary race results. Had they let me collect my rightful prize, I would have been on the podium…

3) I didn’t really have a time goal for this race, considering the distance was weird and I’ve never run it before, but I finished in 1:56:40, which is less than 2 hours, a reasonable goal, so I’m going to say mission accomplished on this one.

Next race is a killer, The Chelan Man Half Iron on July 18th. I might die. Check back to find out.

