Burying the Hatchet

On the day that Hillary Clinton is confirmed as secretary of state, I just wanted to dig up this old quote from the campaign trail.

“It’s that experience, that understanding, not just of what world leaders I went and talked to in the ambassadors house I had tea with, but understanding the lives of the people like my grandmother who lives in a tiny hut in Africa,”   – Barack Obama

Frankly, it probably doesn’t make much of a difference who the secretary of state is.  But I think people should ask themselves if a man who says this, then as soon as he is elected decides that such a notorious tea-sipper is in fact the best person in the country to implement his foreign policy, really believes anything he says or if he’s only saying he believes them in order to achieve his political objectives. Probably, we should be asking this about a lot of politicians…..

