Bernanke: I don’t care about myself, only you

With Hank Paulson at his side, Ben Bernanke went before the Senate Banking Committee to spew vile lies and hefferdust regarding the market’s “desperate” need for intervention.

I believe if the credit markets are not functioning, that jobs will be lost, the unemployment rate will rise, more houses will be foreclosed upon, GDP will contract, that the economy will just not be able to recover. My interest is solely for the strength and recovery of the U.S. economy.”

Well that’s a relief. Because if I didn’t know better I’d be inclined to think that he was trying to scare us into letting him and his friends use our $700bn to their own ends. You see, it’s just that Ben Bernanke doesn’t HAVE any friends who aren’t rich bankers, and the private bank he leads hasn’t done anything to help real Americans since 1913 ever.

Said Indiana Rep. Mike Pence of Bernanke’s performance, “The last time I heard that, I was on a used-car lot… Every time somebody tells you that you’ve got to do the deal right now, it usually means they’re going to get the better part of the deal.”

