You, Me, and the Free Market Makes Three

I am a resident of the Pacific Northwest and I am not upset that Boeing recently lost the air tanker contract. Why? Because it appears that the best machine won, and since Boeing has won every defense contract for nearly half a century, I feel that a little pressure to perform better is a good thing. This is because true free market competition, blind to other factors (like socio-political) forces business to deliver the best product at the lowest price. I like this as a taxpaying recipient of the common defense and I like this as a private citizen when I buy every day products. And while I am most certainly a patriot, what’s good for business is good for America, and what’s good for business is to adapt, and improve. And what’s good for Boeing is precisely what it got.

